Author Topic: clever dick,  (Read 2903 times)

Alfred

clever dick,
« on: Oct 27, 2017, 08:55:06 AM »

Many years ago i worked in a garage service station, and one night a tramp a very big man walked through the garage, in one side and out the other, five minutes later he came back accompanied with a policeman , who was arresting him for being drunk,and disorderly,.

he told one of the staff to phone for a police van, shortly after, one arrived , the driver of the van got out and as soon as he saw the tramp he said to him let yourself in, to which the tramp happily climbed into the van, we were amazed, the policeman said  you obviously know him, the driver said yes he does this trick every week end, purposely so he will get arrested.

in those days people getting arrested over the week end were kept in police station cells, and as a result, automatically got a free breakfast on a Sunday morning, before appearing in court on the following Monday morning, the tramp was a clever dick he knew exactly what he was doing and did this on a regular basis, ......................it seemed bed and breakfast was to tempting to resist.,

Grumpyfrog

Re: clever dick,
« Reply #1 on: Oct 27, 2017, 10:32:35 AM »
If he was really lucky he could have gone to prison and enjoyed 3 meals a day, a comfy bed, clean clothes, television, medical care, access to a gym, library, games room, no bills to pay ....................
I have discovered that I am the same age as old people

Scrumpy

« Reply #2 on: Oct 27, 2017, 05:27:36 PM »
You could get one of your coach trips up Grumpy .. We could turn a motorway cafe over on the way ...

Everything will be alright in the end, and if it’s not alright, its not the end.

Johned

« Reply #3 on: Oct 28, 2017, 04:22:48 PM »
When my now retired son was in charge of the custody suite, he used to send one of the PCs out to buy those detained a take away or fish and chip supper before lockdown.

Ashy

« Reply #4 on: Oct 29, 2017, 07:38:35 AM »