Author Topic: Bomber part ten of a novella  (Read 52 times)

Michael Rolls

Bomber part ten of a novella
« on: Sep 22, 2019, 02:01:06 PM »
“So Liam O’Connell is still of concern?”
“Absolutely. As you doubtless know, he was involved in the attempt to explode another bomb in Corporation Street, but escaped and nobody knows where he may be at the present, but I am pretty sure that once he feels that things have calmed down, he will come after me again – and I want to be as prepared as I possibly can be.”
Lane nodded his head.
“Yes, I can quite see your need. I’m sure that I can come up with something for you. Do you have any preferences?”
“Well, when I was a firearms officer I trained on the Glock 17, but anything in that sort of class would do.”
Lane frowned in thought.
“Let me do some digging and see what I can find for you. I must admit to knowing very little about firearms, but, as the saying goes, I know a man who does. It will take a day or two – is that alright?”
“That would be fine.”
“Good.” He looked at his watch. “Can I offer you a bite of lunch? We only have a light lunch, but you are very welcome to join us, and I am sure that my wife would love to meet you.”
I accepted the invitation gratefully and ten minutes later I was introduced to Mrs. Lane, an elegant woman who looked younger than her fifty something years. She advanced and shook my hand as Lane made the introductions.
“Darling, this is ex-Detective Sergeant Lane, the man I have so often told you about.”
His wife’s smile climbed another notch in its welcome.
“Mr. Lamb, it is so nice to meet you at last. You know, we are both quite certain that when you took down those two IRA men you very probably saved my life and also the life of Clarissa, our daughter.”